Montana Outdoors

January 6, 2010

The Flatiron

The flatiron

Arctic air moved in during the night last night, providing sun and blue sky today for the first time in about a month.

When I started out for today’s hike I was not going into the snow and so I didn’t wear high boots, since I wasn’t going into lion country I didn’t take a pistol, and I was looking only for shots of the blue sky. Instead, as I walked through snow above the tops of my hiking boots I kept crossing lion tracks and most of the photos I took were of scenes in the clouds. Works for me!

This is a large rock slide about a mile below the peak on Baldy Mountain. The old local adage is that it is time to plant frost tender plants only after the snow has left the “flatiron”.

(24)

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.