Montana Outdoors

June 13, 2017

Turned back by snow again

Yesterday I set out on a hike up to Revett Lake but found a good amount of snow within a mile above the trail head, and because I am quite familiar with that trail I knew that there would be deep snow banks on the higher part of the trail also and so I went no further. I’ll give it a couple more weeks. Here are a few photos of the lower part of the trail: it’s a very pretty trail and a beautiful lake.

Revett Lake Trail

Revett Lake Trail

Revett Lake Trail

Revett Lake Trail

Revett Lake Trail

Revett Lake Trail

Revett Lake Trail

The altitude is high enough that there are very few flowers blooming, but this little one is growing right in a small spring that issues from the hillside. I have probably seen the species before, but for some reason have never identified it, even though it really is a pretty little thing.

Small-leaved Montia

Small-leaved Montia ~ Montia parvifolia

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.