Montana Outdoors

June 21, 2008

Patrick’s Creek

This small meadow is along the lower end of Patrick’s Creek not far from where it flows into the Clark Fork River as the big river takes a short journey of twenty miles due east through the Coeur d’Alene Mountains of western Montana before turning sharply to the left and resuming its northward flow toward its rendezvous with the Pacific.

The pure, cold water of this small stream flows untouched and undisturbed through the Patrick’s Knob roadless area from its origin on the pine and fir covered slopes of the peak over four thousand feet above this narrow valley.

As I filled my canteens here and lashed them back on my pack I reflected on how much I love this remaining wild country and how strongly I hope we will have the wisdom to keep it wild for those who will grow to love it after we are gone!

Patrick’s Creek
Patrick's Creek

The longest three mile trail in Montana (Part 2)

Here are some of the flowers which grow along the lower part of trail 205. (Yes, I do favor the Harebells: I see so few of them and those only in this general area of the Coeur d’Alene Mountains.)

Harebells, campanula rotundifolia
Harebells, Bluebells of Scotland

Harebells, Bluebells of Scotland

Harebells, Bluebells of Scotland

Unknown
Unknown

Unknown
Unknown

Orange Honeysuckle, lonicera ciliosa
Unknown

The Silver is the New Black Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 439 other followers